Coconut Sugar

A new product I just saw for the first time today, and was curious to try.

DSCN3485_01

From the organic section of Jusco Supermarket in Johor Bahru. RM9.90 (about S$3.90). 220grams.

I try not to be a sucker for great packaging or for something just because it’s got ‘organic’ stamped on it. But the nice, clean and professional-looking label did get me interested to pick it up and read more, but more than anything I’m just curious what Coconut Nectar Sugar is and tastes like, as I’ve never heard of it before.

I tried a bit at home, and the taste immediately made me think of Malaccan Sugar (Palm Sugar or Gula Melaka), an ingredient I am familiar with since childhood and like very much especially in local desserts. So, to me the Coconut Nectar Sugar is delicious. I can’t wait to have it with my coffee tomorrow morning. I take my coffee black and I just know this will be great with it.

DSCN3489_01

I need to read up more about it. If the ‘Low Glycemic Index’ part might be true, that’s a bonus and I might get one for a friend who is diabetic, and maybe more for myself in future. You don’t need to be diabetic to have a diabetic’s diet, which is healthy. In the meantime, I will treat it as regular sugar.

Related:

  • Authority Nutrition – Coconut Sugar – Healthy Sugar Alternative or a Big, Fat Lie?
  • Summer Tomato – Is Coconut Palm Sugar a Healthy Sugar Substitute?
  • About.com – Coconut Sugar – Is it Really Low-Carb?

***

Day 93

Leave a Reply

