Around The World by Daft Punk

I don’t celebrate Halloween. I think in Singapore it’s mainly a party thing, another theme for the nightclubs to provide more fun and variety in entertainment to their patrons. Last night though I was watching Daft Punk‘s music video for their song Around The World and I thought it would be nice to put it here today. It’s a tad spooky and lots of fun, just like what I think of Halloween. I think it’s so cool that the video is almost twenty years old and still awesome!

I’ve loved this video since I first came across it only a few years ago. Love how original it is for a music video, and love its choregraphy, costumes, stage design, everything else about it. From Wikipedia I found out that the choreographer of the video’s hypnotic and highly entertaining dance is Bianca Li, and that its director is Michel Gondry, the guy who directed the gorgeous Jim Carrey movie, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2004), for which he won an Oscar for Best Original Screenplay as one of the writers.

Daft Punk is a French electronic music duo. Around The World is from their debut album Homework. Both were released in 1997. More recently they also achieved great success with the excellent song Get Lucky, a collaboration with Pharrell and Nile Rodgers. The album which the song came from, Random Access Memories, won Album of The Year and more at the 2014 Grammy Awards.

Oh here’s a cute Lego version too.

4 thoughts on “Around The World by Daft Punk

  1. No Halloween celebration here either, Halim, but have a good weekend and if you’re a rugby fan,
    the big one tonight – go All Blacks!

    Thank you for the sharing

    Best Always

    john

    • Oh my God, yes, the final tonight! I don’t follow rugby but have read that it’s the first time the All Blacks and Australia have met in the final, which seems quite incredible. Go All Blacks! (on behalf of a good Kiwi friend haha)

      Thanks John, and you have a great weekend too! Cheers.

  2. Around the World and all of their first album was really great. But in later recordings I really miss the radical work with noise and repetition that made their debut so special.

    • Ah I see. I have not heard the rest of the album yet but I can certainly connect your opinion to Around the World. That track is certainly radical and special.

      Thanks, Rabirius. It’s interesting to hear an opinion about them from someone who knows their work.

Leave a Reply

