My new Pinterest

Every so often I would think of how this site needs pictures of some gorgeous hunks to liven it up a bit, or sometimes I want to share some images of some interior design that I like. But to write a post around a photograph that’s not even mine (by the way, the three photos below were taken by me), well I guess it’s okay once in a while, but I think it’s better to just use another platform such as Pinterest and just put the address of the site at the sidebar here if anyone is interested.

I should mention it now so as not to waste anyone’s time: To view the things on Pinterest, you have to join it by creating an account by providing your email address and creating a password. Anyway, my site is at: www.pinterest.com/simplehal

DSCN8769_01

Thistle Hotel, Johor Bahru, Malaysia

Pinterest is a photo sharing website. It had proved to be useful for my work but I mainly use it as a way to relax. It’s like being sprawled on the sofa lazily leafing through a glossy magazine, but even lazier that that. Because if you come across something nice and you want to file it for whatever reason for later, it just takes a few clicks as opposed to ripping out a page or scanning it.

DSCN0582_01

Park Royal Hotel, Singapore

I enjoy using it as I get to file ideas, or just images that just strike me as interesting, in neat little folders. They call these folders ‘pinboards’ over there, and the images are the ‘pins’. The first time I used it was a few years ago when a friend asked me to design a shop he’s setting up. I was busy with work commitments, but still wanted to help in some way. I got the idea to start a Pinterest website to compile lots of ideas I thought would be relevant to him, and e-mailed him the address of the site so he could have a look anytime.

And then some time later when we were proposing the supply and installation of terracotta floor tiles for a client, she didn’t quite fancy what she saw in the few catalogues I had in the office. So again I turned to Pinterest to gather images to better relay to her what I think would work for her. The ideas were neatly divided into different pinboards like finish, layout, and pattern. Pinterest is useful and convenient like that.

DSC_0028_01

Rati Lanna Riverside Spa Resort, Chiang Mai, Thailand

You can also pin images you come across on other platforms, including Tumblr, which I’ve also used on and off for some time as a way to compile images. I used to have 2 or 3 Tumblr sites at any one time. One would be for work, for example design ideas and solutions. Another would be fitness-related for example fitness tips and motivational quotes. Another would serve as inspirational eye candy (let’s just call it that). Also for things like, you know, recipes, things like that. Then it got tedious, having so many sites. I barely use my Facebook as it is.

When I started this latest Pinterest, I thought I would painstakingly bring over all the images that I had collected on my Tumblr sites and previous Pinterest sites, but I decided that would be boring and tedious (read: I’m too lazy to do it). I’d rather just spend the hours idly looking at new images and ideas.

 *

Related:

  • sheknows.com – Pinterest: What it is, how to use it and why you’ll be addicted

4 thoughts on “My new Pinterest

  1. Interior design is awesome as is modern architecture :) Mind you…some gorgeous hunks wouldn’t go amiss either! Tall dark and handsome please!! Pinterest sounds great…the answer to all my pic pinning or lack of pinning actually, problems :) I might just go ahead and get an account of my own…then I can follow yours and see how the cool guys do it!

    • I’ve noticed so far from my experience that Tumblr has many more pictures of gorgeous hunks. Pinterest, yes they are there too but not nearly as many as Tumblr, which is amazing for its sheer quantity and variety! I know because I’ve searched for some particular categories of men in Pinterest hahaha! There doesn’t seem to be many but perhaps I haven’t searched deep enough yet. I’ll try again next time when I’m ready to start some pinboards of such eye candy. At the moment I’ve only been occupied with the design stuff there.

      I hope you’ll join Pinterest too. I would certainly be interested to follow your account if you do!

Leave a Reply

