The Pickpocket Huntress

I came across a video of this unique and amazing woman, Eliana Guerrero, who volunteers her time and effort to look out for pickpockets who prowl Barcelona’s subways. Why? Simply because she loves her city so much that it bothers her how the rampant crime affects its reputation, and she thinks, “Nobody is doing anything about this. Somebody has to do something about this.” So she went out and fiercely became that somebody.

Well, she shouldn’t be ‘that’ somebody but just ‘a’ somebody. Because there really should be other somebodies joining her to help their city.

She’s really risking her life and limb, the way I see it. Even ‘petty’ criminals like pickpockets can turn violent out of resentment or desperation when confronted, and they tend to work in gangs. I hope she stays safe.

And I imagine it is a largely thankless affair. I can imagine some people are annoyed at feeling alarmed and give her dirty looks when she blows her whistle or when she reminds them to sling their handbags in front of their body where they can see it. I hope she brushes off the negativity she suffers and stay strong, and always be proud of the very noble volunteer work she’s doing for Barcelona.

*

I remember how Bert stopped a crime in progress a few years ago in Penang, Malaysia. We were there because I wanted to do a marathon (my first ever full marathon). We had visited the parking lot of a mall where the organizers were distributing the runner’s bag which contained stuff like the bib number. Then we went to the bus stop in front of the mall to get back to the hotel. Naturally there was a big crowd of people at the bus stop, so when our bus arrived it was a slow process getting to the door to board it because there were maybe more than 50 other people crowding around it waiting to board. There was no queue. It was quite chaotic.

Bert saw it before anyone else. A young guy some distance in front of us who had almost reached the door, with his hand already dipping into the bag hanging from the shoulder of the guy in front of him. Bert shouted at him, “Hey, stop! Yes, you! You with your hand inside his bag!” Everyone around us fell silent, shocked and wondering what the white guy was screaming about. The surprised pickpocket glared angrily at Bert for a moment, then shrugged, deciding to pretend not to know what Bert was referring to. Now alerted, the almost-victim snatched his bag in shock and hung it from his other shoulder. “I saw you! I saw what you were doing!” Bert continued to yell at the pickpocket. He stomped off, suddenly not interested in getting on the bus.

The almost-victim never thanked Bert. Idiot. That annoys me now, thinking about it, but I wasn’t thinking about it then. I probably didn’t even notice Bert wasn’t thanked. I was busy being in awe. My man is so cool. My heart was bursting with pride for him.

*

Back to Ms. Guerrero in the video. This remarkable woman is not even from Barcelona, but is an immigrant from Colombia, and yet her love for Barcelona is so strong that she and her incredible sense of civic-mindedness do some amazing and potentially dangerous work to protect this city that she had grown to love. Her city. That’s food for thought about immigrants. That they can see and appreciate what we may take for granted, and end up loving our city or country as much as or even more than we do.

Every city in the world deserves a pickpocket huntress or two hundred. The video reminds me of the subways and touristy areas in places like Rome and Milan, cities I have visited several times. The subways there can be quite unpleasant. Even Bert who is a native Italian was targeted a few times, maybe because he was with me so they thought he was a tourist too. Thankfully we were never victims. Hopefully never.

*

Related:

  • The Savvy Backpacker – How to Avoid Pickpockets in Europe — Tips for Outsmarting the Thieves
  • Life In Italy – A pickpocket’s tricks: How to Avoid Getting Robbed While On Vacation In Italy.
  • All Singapore Stuff – Woman’s handbag was cut and wallet stolen by thief at Ikea
  • Forbes – How to protect yourself from pickpockets and thieves when you travel (this one is a lengthy six-page article but contains an interesting and comprehensive list of tips)
7 thoughts on “The Pickpocket Huntress

    • Thanks, I totally agree. She’s also a great reminder that if we feel strongly about something, we don’t necessarily have to join an established organization. Just get out there and do it. In her case, she just arms herself with some tools and common sense, liaise with the security employees of the subway company, and goes ahead and does what she can. Remarkable person indeed! Cheers, Cindy!

  1. Nice Post. I saw the video as well. That girl’s brave, so is your guy. So he’s Italian. Nice!! I know what you mean about Italy. I loved Italy when I visited over 10 years ago. But in Rome, people were really nasty, and racist. I preferred the kind of people I met further north. Especially in Verona. So friendly. But altogether I found Italy to be one of the beautiful countries in Europe. And the people are so good looking.

    • Thanks for the compliments, Nuwan!

      I have visited Italy several times, the first was over 10 years ago too, and the last in 2012. I experienced some racist incidents as well. I also found strangers (salespeople, restaurant or supermarket staff, etc) generally unfriendly or cold, so after an initial period of being shocked and offended (at the rudeness) I just stopped expecting any friendliness. I talk to them politely if I need to communicate with them but that’s it. It makes me sad, because one of the gems of travel is getting a glimpse of the people and their lifestyle. But like you said, it’s a very beautiful country. Because of that I don’t mind going back again and again to visit Bert’s family, because the places I see while there are so incredibly beautiful.

      From my experience and perception the racism and/or general unpleasantness seems to have increased over the years. My layman’s assumptions chalk it up to Italy and the rest of Europe having a bigger and bigger migrant problem, and their residents being resentful they have to pay such high taxes and so much of this money going to help others, when so many of their own people are struggling too. I can understand that. But of course there is never any excuse for racism.

      Also, talking about suffering racism at the hands of westerners, I’m quickly reminded about being treated shabbily by our fellow Asians, haha! For example, on holiday visits to Malaysia and Thailand, sometimes my Caucasian partner was treated with far more consideration and interest. There were occasions where I was ignored. It always gets on my nerves but I mostly just shrug it off. I know there are Asians like that everywhere including in my home country of Singapore.

Leave a Reply

