Two short gay films: Nessun Dorma and Ageless

I was scrolling through Yahoo News! Singapore, and came across a link to a short gay film called Nessun Dorma (2012). It’s Filipino and in Tagalog, with English subtitles. I loved it. It’s so well done. For a three-minute show, you get a well-encapsulated story of heartbreak, intimate and raw but not painfully over-dramatic, and two actors who are not only hot but talented, carrying the story convincingly. I was very entertained by this short story by writer Ronald Genato and director Jedd Rommel. And did I mention it was all of three minutes?! Stunning.

*

Nessun Dorma put me in the mood for more so I moved on to YouTube to check out some other short gay films there. Some good, some not so. One I really like is Ageless (2013), written and directed by Heath Daniels.

It’s a sweet, funny story that had me smiling throughout. I was also going “damn, those two gentlemen look good” at the older couple of Charles and Howard. I mean they’re in such great shape. How old are they supposed to depict? 50s, 60s? I hope I’ll look good like that if I get to that age.

At the end of the credits, it flashed ‘Shot entirely on the iPhone 5‘ which of course was amazing to me. I hardly ever use my phone to take basic photographs, let alone with those fancy filters you see online. In fact I hardly ever use my phone for anything other than phonecalls. I don’t even like to text. So this Daniel Heath shooting an entire short film on a phone… I find that impressive.

*

Related:

  • Vimeo.com – Other works by Jedd Rommel available for viewing
  • Youtube.com – Heath Daniels’ channel
4 thoughts on “Two short gay films: Nessun Dorma and Ageless

    • I totally agree, Steve. I love it too. The script especially, but also how the scenes flow between the couples. And the way they regard each other wistfully, as if the older Charles is looking into the past, and the younger David the future, when for us the viewer they are both right there! In the same place yet a different place, in time, and also emotionally and in terms of maturity. Now that I think about it, it’s somewhat Woody Allen-esque, but in three and a half minutes, haha! Cheers, Steve.

    • They are indeed, Cindy. The films themselves, but interesting also how these short stories can unfold and complete in mere minutes.

Leave a Reply

