Basic Chicken Soup from marthastewart.com

Chicken soup cooked 3rd Jan 2015

My partner has the flu real bad these past couple of days. I wanted to cook some chicken soup for him as a nice surprise to cheer up the poor guy. Most of the time it’s him cooking for us. I’m not very good in the kitchen, which is why I’m only inspired to cook like maybe once or twice a year. Basically the interest just isn’t there.

So I felt relieved to quickly find some chicken soup recipes that seemed really simple when I googled just that: ‘simple chicken soup‘. And they require so few ingredients to buy too which is a nice bonus. Chicken, carrots and celery. That’s it. The rest is just onions, garlic and salt, stuff we tend to already have at home.

I chose to try a recipe from Martha Stewart’s website. It even has an accompanying video as the recipe was demonstrated on Martha’s show by Sarah Carey, Food Editor of Martha Stewart Living. It was simple enough to follow on its own, but the interesting video featured was a welcomed bonus.

Click here for the link to the recipe.

*

We both loved it. It was so delicious. And of course I loved that it was so easy even for me. I definitely want to make this soup over and over again.

Notes:

  • Part of why it’s such a breeze to make is that there is no separate stock to make. I loved that I didn’t have to use any bouillon cube for flavour. The soup was already so rich and tasty from the chicken and the vegetables, especially the thinly sliced onions. Four whole cups! That’s a lot of onion to me, but mmmm it made the taste of the soup so lovely.
  • And not a single drop of olive oil or any other oil either. The oil from the fat of the meat and the skin is enough. Update 4th January: In fact Bert just mentioned it was a bit too oily for him in his condition, with his coughing and all (ooops!). So next time until he gets better, I’ll remove whatever fat and all the skin except on the wings.
  • I used 3 carrots instead of six as stated in the recipe, since it’s just the two of us.
  • I took about one and a half hours to make this soup. More than an hour of that was just leaving the soup to simmer, partially covered.
5 thoughts on “Basic Chicken Soup from marthastewart.com

    • It was awesome indeed! Such a pleasant surprise that a simple recipe with so few ingredients can result in such flavourful deliciousness. I hope you enjoy it a lot too like we did!

      I just updated the post with a little note that my partner found it a bit too oily for his condition. Taste-wise he liked it, but he’s coughing a lot so that didn’t help. So I’m going to remove the fat and most of the skin of the chicken next time I make it, that is until he gets better and he can enjoy the soup’s full flavour again.

  1. Pingback: Oatmeal Cookies from halfbakedharvest.com | simple & gayforward

Leave a Reply

