You’re the one that I want, covered by Lo-Fang

There are many things I love about the gorgeous film Australian director Baz Luhrmann did for Chanel, starring Brazilian model Gisele Bündchen. Most of all is the rendition of the beloved You’re The One That I Want from the 1978 movie Grease. The haunting cover is by American singer Matthew Jordan Hemerlein, better known by his stage name Lo-Fang.

I will forever love the original as sung by John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John, but Lo-Fang’s lush treatment propels it to another swooningly glorious dimension. He took it to a stunningly unexpected direction, and what blossomed from the effort is a sparkling beauty that taps gently at your heart and quietly asks for a hug.

*

I had seen the Chanel film some time ago, was enamoured by the music and meant to note it here but didn’t at the time. Recently, (okay fine, at work this afternoon when I was supposed to be working) I was led to it again when I was browsing through Buzzfeed and came across this post, which introduced me to the name of the leading man. Watching it again I was reminded that besides the music, the suave and oh-so-sexy leading man with the Javier Bardem vibe was another thing that made me go ‘mmm, nice‘.

His name is Michiel Huisman, a Dutchman. He’s only 33. I thought he looked older in the film. Must be the beard. Which adds up to why I think he’s so sizzlingly hot since I tend to find mature men more attractive. Among the shows the actor has worked in are several popular television series including Nashville and Game of Thrones.

tumblr_ndhnjegrh01sffuv1o4_500

Michiel Huisman, in a still from the video. Image from the tumblr site Daily Michiel Huisman. Click to go there.

*

And here is of course the charismatic original version of You’re The One That I Want.

*

Related:

2 thoughts on “You’re the one that I want, covered by Lo-Fang

  1. It is a beautiful rendition! I want to find out who the real female surfer is. Clearly not Giselle, those were pretty crude paste ups.of her in the wave. I’m gonna google it. She is a really good surfer…….

    • I don’t have an interest in the sport, but you’ve made me check out the surfing shots again, more closely, and yes they are breathtaking indeed! Intense and frankly scary, but very beautiful. I wonder who the real surfer is too! I wish they had credited everyone involved in the making of the film just like in the end credits of a regular film, at least in one of the ‘making of’ videos that accompanied this.

Leave a Reply

