Depressing signs

I’m putting here pictures of three that I came across and snapped in the past few weeks.

***

The first one below was taken at Ikea, and it just cracked me up when I saw it.

DSCN4262_01

DSCN4261_01

Probably laughed way more than I should, but I was just so tickled by it. I was thinking, why the hell is such a sign necessary? Why would anyone think that a toilet bowl in a showroom is a functioning one, and why would anyone there want to use one in the open in the first place?

Then I thought, ahh okay, it’s for those crazy parents/grandparents of young kids who I’ve seen before letting the kids relieve themselves in public, like into a drain. And hey, these days, even in Singapore it’s not just the kids anymore, going by the stories in the links below.

So, yes, that sign (complete with acrylic sheet covering the whole toilet opening so nobody can insist on peeing or shitting into it! haha!) in Ikea is sensible, I guess. I shudder to think if such signs were originally brought on by any smelly messy incidents, whether in Singapore or in any of their hundreds of stores elsewhere in the world. Eeww. Poor cleaner.

***

DSCN4350_01

A blogger I follow, Laura of Texas on Thames, who is an expat in Singapore, featured a similar Crime Alert sign in a post just recently where she wrote about staying attentive in Singapore even though we have a low crime rate. I was just commenting on her post about how such signs seem to be appearing with more frequency, which is worrying.

So when I came across this yet another new one just last week or so, it’s such a bummer. I mean, these signs themselves are great because they serve such an important purpose, but at the same time when they start to seem more common to me, it does seem to point to an increase in crime, generally. And, ugh, ‘obscene act‘. What is that, like a flasher? How rude. My sympathies to the victim, and I hope the authorities apprehend the offender soon. I think usually I see the alert for ‘shoplifting‘ or ‘housebreaking‘ or something like that.

By the way, this Crime Alert sign was placed outside Botanic Gardens MRT Station, Exit A. (for if by any chance anyone reading this was at the time and place and saw something,)

***

The third sign I snapped made me sad too. It was captured on a public bus.

“No assault on bus captain.”

(Perhaps for another post on another day, but by the way why are bus drivers in Singapore called bus captains? To give the occupation a fancy name? If so, why? And would that mean we look down on bus drivers, so much that we need to give them a fancier sounding name, to make the job look better? I just think that would be friggin’ ridiculous. Driving a bus is not just an honest and decent living, but honorable. The safety and lives of hundreds of passengers are in your hands every single day.)

DSCN4278_01

There must have been some ugly incidents for the bus company to deem such a sign necessary, and the thought is just depressing.

Just a couple of weeks after I saw the sign above and wondered about it, I read about how in Penang, Malaysia last week, a bus driver was stabbed by a female passenger, for not acceding to her request to stop by the roadside. Please be warned that the photo of the victim contained in the following linked article is graphic, showing blood: Rapid Penang bus driver stabbed by a passenger.

Damn. Imagine being attacked and injured so seriously, but as the driver you still need to think for everyone’s safety, so you have to struggle to stop the bus safely even as you’re struggling to fight off your assailant.

Looks like Malaysia should follow Singapore’s example and put up “No assault on bus driver” signs to remind passengers to control their temper if riled up by the drivers, if they haven’t put up such signs already. How bloody screwed up, that all these signs are necessary.

***

Update 17 October 2014: Related: Unemployed man jailed for punching bus driver (Stomp.com.sg – 15 October 2014)

6 thoughts on “Depressing signs

  1. i understand, Halim, why you call them depressing signs; we seem to need to have everything spelled out for us these days, common sense is taking a heavy beating..and obscene acts and assaults on bus captains are worrying trends but we’re still a pretty safe and orderly society.
    Thank You for sharing these.
    My best to you
    john

    • Yes I agree that overall we are still quite safe and for that I am thankful. I wish everyone could be aware of how our actions affect everyone else, and since you mentioned common sense, yes sometimes that’s all that’s needed besides some regard for other people.

      Thank you for your thoughtful comment, John! Cheers

  2. Bang @Halim Bagiku Singapura adalah Contoh Baik sebuah Negeri Maju dan Makmur,untuk mencapai semua itu diperlukan “Kedisplinan” atau “Penegakan Peraturan”,mungkin Cenderung Berlebihan,tapi itu Diperlukan.

    • Terimakasih atas pujian anda tentang negara saya! Saya juga setuju bahawa kita perlu lebih cenderung menghormati peraturan dan lebih prihatin tentang keselesaan orang lain, demi kebaikan dan manfaat untuk semua.

  3. Oh my gosh, these are hilarious. What is someone going to do? Use the toilet in the middle of the store? I saw a sign once, “Senior Citizens Sale.” I wonder how much they were selling the senior citizens for????? ;)

    • Hahaha!! That’s funny and certainly reminds me of a few sale-related signs I came across that was awkwardly worded. Thanks, my friend, and cheers!

Leave a Reply

