Prego Restaurant

Prego1

I haven’t visited Prego for years, more than a decade. It used to be a firm favourite with me and Bert. We first came across it about twenty years ago I think, around when it first opened, when the space it occupied used to be under one of the Westin Hotels formerly there. Westin Stamford or Plaza, I forgot which. Now the hotel there is called the Fairmont.

So it brought back some nice memories when we went back with a couple of friends recently. To me, the fact that Prego is still there after all these years is remarkable for Singapore. But it’s pretty stunning that even the interior is the same. Now that’s incredible. Commercial space here like malls and restaurants get makeovers frequently, some every few years. From interiors to even entire building facades, it can seem striking even for locals how frequent and fast things change, let alone for repeat visitors like tourists.

Prego3

The shock of yellow is a tad gaudy to me but I guess it goes alright with the rest of the colour palette. I love the potted bushes of rosemary.

Prego2

I so love that they kept this travertino floor at the foyer, and the waves of happiness kept rolling over me when I realised they kept everything I remember about the place.

I don’t know why I was so darn happy. It’s just a restaurant. I think it’s just that I was so surprised because it’s so unusual for things to stay the same in Singapore, and for such a long time. Things keep changing here. To keep them appealingly fresh, I suppose. But the way I see it, the problem becomes: how do you really let sink in the memories that you can treasure by letting them take root, when the places these memories are crafted around seem disposable. At the back of your head you are already thinking that the place won’t last, that you would soon be forming new memories with the new things that will take over the space. After a while there are just too many of these ‘short-term’ memories, so you allow all these memories associated with the same space to be filmsy and disposable too.

So when I walked in again and saw that things were mostly the same as it were twenty years ago (except for some very few and very small touches here and there) Prego ceased to be just a restaurant. It became snapshots and voices and laughter from years ago, the food we ordered, what we liked and didn’t liked. The faces of the friends and family we dined with. The other people we brought there. I even remember a few of the waiters. Not their names or what they looked like, but some things that were said or done to earn smiles or frowns. Crazy, the amount of memories. And now imprinted even more deeply in me, to be cherished for many more years.

Prego4

I don’t remember the awning and similarly striped wallpaper, but the rest of the restaurant looks exactly the same as I remember it, including the chairs.

Prego5_2

Prego7_2

We went for the ‘Sunday Semi-Buffet Lunch’

Prego6

Just a glimpse of the buffet line. There was actually a big and very tasty selection of appetisers and desserts. I was too shy to go around taking photos of the spread, and it would have been disruptive to the other people getting their food.

Prego8

Part of the buffet is this long list of dishes you order ala carte. Just tick what you want and hand it to the waiter. Limited to one dish a person at a time. When you’ve had that, you can order more. This turned out to be a very good idea, as we found that we were beginning to be stuffed by the time our ala carte selection arrived.

Prego9

They even kept these Mediterranean-style plates I remember! If not exactly the same ones, they at least kept to the same design, which put yet another smile on my face. These four dishes are our first round from the buffet ala carte menu.

Prego10

Prego11

Prego12

Beer barrel tables! I want one, if only I have the space for it at home. And painted so prettily too. Cuteness overload.

Prego13

The windows used to look out to the street but not anymore, so I guess the hotel had claimed the space outside to expand its interior. The sayings above the restaurants are yet another thing I remember and remember liking. This one is “Troppi cuochi sciupano la minestra” which is “Too many cooks spoil the broth“.

‘Prego’, the name of the restaurant, means ‘welcome‘, by the way.

6 thoughts on “Prego Restaurant

  1. What a charming place (though I’m with you on the yellow – hmm, an interesting choice…) Those barrel tables are something else!

    • Haha, it really is quite startling, that colour! And those barrel tables are beautiful. I’ve always liked them for their rustic quality, and the illustration decoration adds such a level of cheer. The sleekly designed and fixed glass top, while a bit too modern for the barrels, is another element I find attractive. Thanks for your comment, Steven! Cheers.

    • Thanks, Cindy! I liked the decor and ambience too. Even for such a big open space and with such a high ceiling, it still felt cosy and relaxed. A casual and cheerful looking place. I remember the staff we met were also polite and friendly, so that contributed a lot to the pleasant experience there.

Leave a Reply

