To Rome With Love

A friend who came for dinner brought this along as a gift, and we watched it together after the meal. It’s not the first time he had brought movies, and he’s the only person I know who does this, which is really cool, because it suits us to a T. Bert and I are big movie lovers, and watching one while relaxing after a meal and working for hours in the kitchen is perfect.

I would never dare to bring movies to suggest watching together because I would worry that it’s just not a thing for the host and/or other guests, or that they might find the particular movie I bring a bore. But as for Bert and I, we are open to anything, whether fiction or documentaries, and our friend has brought us some really fascinating stuff, including this one.

DSCN3272_reduced

To Rome With Love (2012) is a romantic comedy written and directed by Woody Allen. It is actually made up of four separate stories taking place in the city. As Wikipedia puts it:

The film features an ensemble cast, and Allen himself. The story is told in four separate vignettes: a clerk who wakes up to find himself a celebrity, an architect who takes a trip back to the street he lived on as a student, a young couple on their honeymoon, and an Italian funeral director whose uncanny singing ability enraptures his soon to be in-law, an American opera director.

I enjoyed Antonio’s story best, and not only because it features the Spanish actress Penélope Cruz, who is always a delight to watch. This particular story is really crazy and fun and had me in stitches. Penélope plays an prostitute called Anna. She seems to play prostitutes a lot or maybe it just seems that way to me. Anyway, she’s always brilliant, and her performance in this movie is no exception.

***

Day 64

2 thoughts on “To Rome With Love

  1. Oh I like this movie. I think I saw it on a plane, like most movies these days, lol. A shame about the whole Woody Allen controversy of late. Hard to enjoy his movies without feeling creepy. I guess innocent til proven guilty, but something in the back of the head, you know?

    • I read about it, it’s really sad! Because he’s one of my favourite directors, there are so many of his movies I love! But I agree about both the innocent until proven guilty and the feeling creepy part! Or rather a feeling of sadness with a sigh.

Leave a Reply

