Purple Orchids

DSCN9422_reduced

This is a great idea I saw at Thistle Hotel in Johor Bahru. I’d love to try it but first I need to get some test tubes, which I know is available at Art Friend, the art supplies store. I’ve seen arrangements using test tubes as vases but this one is really interesting and beautiful to me.

DSCN9424_reduced

The tubes are tied to decorative dried branches or sticks, and each one holds a small bunch of flowers. I don’t know what these green tubes are and where to find them, but no matter as I think regular test tubes made of glass would look better, anyway. I also wouldn’t use those industrial-looking nylon cable ties which to me spoils the look of the arrangement. I would simply use the regular green floral wire, or alternatively, a thin fabric ribbon tied into a simple bow.

***

Day 62

7 thoughts on “Purple Orchids

    • Oh thanks, Buffy!

      Yes I couldn’t grow them either. They flowers of the plant bloom for a while, but the plant stays barren most of the time, at least with me haha… I just buy the flowers here in a bunch if I happen to pass by this big store called ‘Far East Flora’ which mainly supplies to florists, as their prices are still lower even for people who buy as regular retail customers :-)

Leave a Reply

