Didi

DSCN1916_01

Like Blackie, who was featured in the previous post, Didi came into our lives suddenly. A lone ranger of a kitten who had somehow separated from the litter he had been born into. He came three years earlier than Blackie did, in 2004. A scrawny, ghostly, timid creature we only caught glimpses of at first among the other lodgers (a lovely term Steven, a blogger I follow, uses for them) we were feeding outside the house.

It took weeks for him to build the confidence to linger after he had eaten, instead of dashing back into the bushes. And slowly he allowed us to get closer and closer until finally we were allowed to pet him. A few months later, one of the lodgers got run over by a car. Upset, we herded the others into the house, including Didi, but only he and Suzy (to be featured next time) wanted to stay. The others were just not used to staying indoors.

At the time we had not adopted any cat yet, we were just feeding them outside. So it was with Didi and Suzy in 2004 that our pet ownership with cats began. Wow, ten years now. I can’t believe we’ve had them this long and that he and Suzy are now ten years old.

DSCN0207_01

DSCN9885_01

DSCN9916_01

Didi has a beautiful temperament, very gentle and quiet. Shy with strangers, but friendly once he has spent some time warming up to them.

030_02

Getting along very well with Blackie. In the beginning in 2007 when Blackie had been brought into the household as a kitten, Didi had welcomed him and was gentle with him. Today as adults, their play/fight can be boisterous with even fur flying, but for the most part they’re peaceful and snuggling against each other like this.

***

Day 45 of ‘100 Happy Days‘.

8 thoughts on “Didi

  1. They’re both quite adorable. Lovely to see a black and a white cat huddled together like that. What posers they are!

    Didn’t Didi hit the jackpot! Bernardo was very similar with us when he first appeared – I would step outside to feed him, and he’d dart away as quick as anything, and only return when I went back indoors. Give it a few months, he’s letting himself in, sprawling out in front of the fireplace… (he’s certainly no fool. He still won’t let me touch him, though; I’m fairly sure he was mistreated.)

    It’s nice that Didi took Blackie under his wing. I’ve always been pleasantly surprised by my other cats’ reactions to Bernard. There’s the odd yowl here and there, and they do sometimes wear a look of ‘er.. who’s this guy?’, but there’s been no fighting that I’ve seen. It was really great of you to try and take on the other lodgers! Bernard gets very agitated once his point of entry/exit is shut though; I would love to keep him with me, but I just don’t think it would be fair on him. Best let him prown on his own terms!

    Great stuff Halim, love the photographs. At least your cats sit under the Christmas tree, and don’t attempt to scale it…!

    • Thank you, Steven! Yes, I’m always scrambling to find my camera when I find them in adorable poses like that. And we refer to Didi as our most photogenic cat, because he always seems ready for the camera, with no complains or scampering off, never annoyed like the other two sometimes.

      Your Bernardo reminds me of some of our current lodgers, who still won’t let us touch them. I’d wish they let me of course, but I don’t try to persuade them. A bigger part of me is glad they are so guarded. There may be some sick humans out there who may do them harm. Like you think about Bernard as well, they may have already suffered some form of mistreatment, so I guess it’s good for them they stay guarded..

      Yes I’m glad there has been no disasters with the Christmas tree so far. That would be a massive mess to clean up hahah! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

