A book of love

What book would people normally buy for someone they love? Something romantic, I guess, like some poetry. A book of profound and lovely poems by a distinguished and admired poet. Or their favourite Shakespearean play. A classic romance by Jane Austen? Or Edith Wharton, for something a bit more brooding but hauntingly beautiful all the same. Maybe a modern romance. Nicholas Sparks! I have yet to read any of his books. I really should soon. From what I have heard and read about him, I would expect glorious epic romances. I’d love that.

My first choice of a book for a lover would be Milan Kundera’s The Unbearable Lightness of Being. To me that is the ultimate love story. Love and life, with all of its glory and splendour but also its devastating heartbreak and finally resignation to how it rules and owns you. And accepting and embracing that. Something sublime like that, you know? Something dazzlingly, beautifully romantic.

My man got me this:

DSCN2579_cropped_reduced

And I absolutely love him for it, all over again, 20 years later. Because it still cracks me up after all this time.

DSCN2580_cropped_reduced

I was tidying some shelves and drawers, sorting some books and other stuff, and at one point just felt like taking a break when I saw this. It’s been a long while since I last enjoyed it. I turned the cover and saw the date, and was really surprised. I didn’t realise the book has been with us this long.

I love the work of American cartoonist Gary Larson, his quirky and bizarre sense of humour. I have an appreciation for such cartoons since I was a kid after discovering Lat, a Malaysian cartoonist who drew satirical scenes of various themes like traditional village life, social and political issues, children at play, etc.

So many things have happened in twenty years. We almost broke up a few times haha, we almost walked away when things seemed hard and impossible. And twenty years ago both my parents were still alive, God, I miss them so much. His mum and aunt too. I miss them a lot too.

We make each other laugh. I think that’s it. Of course it’s not the only thing, but definitely an important factor why we’re still together even though we drive each other crazy sometimes. He’s the kindest person I know, not only to me but to the other people around him, and he’s got a crazy sense of humour I love.

***

Day 32 of ‘100 Happy Days‘.

Happy meter: amused

4 thoughts on “A book of love

Leave a Reply

