Festive mood at City Square Mall

We went to Mustafa Centre at Serangoon Road in Little India today, to shop for some particular grocery items we like to get from the supermarket there. To get there we got off at Farrer Park MRT station. The exit  of the station is linked to the basement level of City Square Mall. When we left the mall we were greeted by a mini funfair of sorts, set up for the Chinese New Year season.

20140208_171335_01

I was impressed, especially since I didn’t see anything of this scale in terms of decoration by an individual mall when we were in Chinatown a couple of weeks ago. And here we were in Little India, where we found this big effort by City Square Mall. It’s so charming and cheerful.

20140208_171404_01

A massive and incredibly beautiful tangerine tree. There are two of these at the front entrance, and two more at a side entrance of the mall.

20140208_171649_01

When we were walking past this air slide, they were just beginning to have it blown up with a blower machine. I turned around barely a minute or two later and it was already all completely done. I didn’t know it was going to be that amazingly fast. It would have been fun to record it on video.

20140208_171607_01

There were also these gorgeous boards featuring all twelve animals of the Chinese Horoscope, with signboards featuring predictions of what’s in store this Year of the Horse.

20140208_171554_01

That’s my sign, going moo moo. Ox, or to be specific for those born in 1973, Water Ox. According to the prediction, it might suck to be me this Year of the Horse. I might even fall sick and everything. Dammit.

20140208_171529_01

I do love how the pink shades of the Indian lady’s elegant saree matches so well with the theme colour of the funfair. I also love how she’s nonchalantly rocking the grey in her hair, with a girlish ponytail! And that pretty pink on her! Surely it indicates a fun spirit. Effortless chic.

***

This post is Day 16 of ‘100 Happy Days‘.

Happy meter: cheery

6 thoughts on “Festive mood at City Square Mall

    • Oh thanks, Sean, for the compliment! Which makes me think. That firstly, there’s still a long way to go to 100 days. Might not make it and that’s ok, but will try. Secondly, I think I’ve gotten into the hang of posting everyday again (I did that for another challenge last November but only a month).

      So far for me this challenge has been more about re-looking the things around me and finding the things that gives me simple pleasures that I didn’t quite realise before. It’s been interesting as it makes me pay more attention to why I like them, and I’m also reminded of the things I don’t like, haha! Cheers.

  1. Hi there,
    I liked this post so much, Halim. It’s so colorful and cheerful to me because it’s winter here and it’s bleak. I live in a nature dominated environment. I can’t see a single person or man-made object, except my fence when looking out any window.

    P.S. I wish you well in the Happy Days challenge. Looking at everything closely through appreciative eyes leads to joy.

    • Thanks so much timethief!
      As they say a change of scenery will always feel refreshing, so for me here in hot and humid Singapore, in a busy congested city, I’m sure I’ll be much cheered by your environment haha! Ah, nature. I think I would love it too once I’m equipped with the skills and tools required for daily life. I’m quite a quiet soul who would love to be away from other people, and I suspect at least a small quiet town would be more my element.

      Thanks for the best wishes! I needed to get used to writing everyday, but basically I already mostly write what makes me happy, so it’s about adding a few more posts each week. It’s true, looking closely at new stuff and things I already enjoy makes them more joyful and interesting. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

