Pedestrian crossing button

I was surprised to come across this. It put a smile on my face. I thought it was such a great idea. Besides the usual button for pedestrians to press, there is an added feature for the elderly.

DSCN2308_cropped_reduced

The flash of my camera obliterated the fading ‘L’ in ‘longer’.

Just by tapping a card, It allows them to have the longer time they may need to cross the road. Or at least, some of them. I think the purple card displayed in the graphic sign refers to the concession farecard that people aged 60 and above can apply for to use on trains and buses. I don’t suppose everyone in the age group owns that farecard.

Also, it’s curious that wheelchair users are also featured in the graphic sign. I don’t see how they could have the card unless they happen to be 60 and above as well. I wonder if they have the option to apply for a similar concession farecard?

It’s a clever little thing, with great sweet thought behind its design. Especially in this day and age when sometimes we seem to be rushing here and there for God knows what. Like everyone else, I’ve witnessed before an elderly person still slowly making his or her way across by the time the pedestrian light has turned red. I would think most motorists are kind and understanding enough, but it’s nice that the elderly person can be less anxious about not reaching the other side yet, if he or she can have just a bit more time.

***

This post is Day 14 of ‘100 Happy Days‘.

Happy meter: appreciative

16 thoughts on “Pedestrian crossing button

    • Thank you!

      Haha, well put! I hope if I’m ‘lucky’ enough to live to 80 or 90, I won’t be all cranky and going in and out of hospitals for this and that ailment. I might regret quitting smoking at 35 and spending so much time exercising trying to lose weight when I could have used that time for more fun things to do.

    • I need to move to Singapore man. Not because of that button mind you. But because of all the other amazing things I here about the place. But from memory (I’ve been there twice), it is one of the most humid countries ever!!

      • Thank you! Yes it’s really humid, haha! I don’t mind because I was born here and lived here all my life so I’m used to it. Some other Singaporeans might say that as well, but that’s also probably because they drive and just blast the aircon on haha!

        The grass always looks greener on the other side, as they say, so I probably don’t appreciate my country as much as I should. If I can pick anywhere else to live it would be Thailand! Specifically Chiang Mai, I love that place. Would love the opportunity to experience living and working there for a year or two!

    • Thank you for the compliment, Nuwan! I agree it’s a smart idea. And yet it seems ‘simple’. I think sometimes the best ideas are the simple ones, and yet somehow it takes a genius or really creative person to come up with it.

Leave a Reply

