NaBloPoMo in November was interesting

NaBloPoMo_November_large

Image from blogher.com. Click to go there.

That’s National Blog Posting Month, which I first came to know of via a WordPress.com post by Michelle W., which I read just in time on the 1st of November. Michelle wrote that:

There’s a lot of buzz each November around NaNoWriMo — you may notice some of your favorite blogs dedicating themselves to churning out 50,000 words this month.

If 50,000 words seem like 49,000 too many or you’re more interested in blogging than writing a book, NaBloPoMo — National Blog Posting Month — might be your speed: a challenge to post once every day for the entire month of November. No theme, no word count, no rules; just you, your blog, and 30 new posts.

These short forms are so darn cute to me. And NaBloPoMo almost immediately makes me think ‘NoBloFoMe’, applicable to guys who are celibate. Or for a campaign to promote celibacy for a month maybe? Haha! Which in turn reminds me of what I came across on Reddit: the ‘NoFap‘ page, for guys who want to wean themselves off masturbation. Fascinating stuff. Amazing community of support there.

Anyway, I digress. NaBloPoMo was founded in 2006 by Eden Kennedy from the blog fussy.org, which looks great by the way so I want to go back and read some later.

I love that, just like NaNoWriMo, the idea can be applied to any time you want; any month, not just November.

I jumped in on an impulse after reading Michelle’s post. As someone who usually writes on this blog only once or twice a week, that was quite a commitment. In fact that’s why I didn’t join the community at BlogHer by adding my name to their blogroll, because I wasn’t sure if I could do it, and I would feel quasi-crappy if I dropped out halfway. I mean it can’t just be posting for the sake of posting. The posts would have to be about the same length, and with about the same amount of thought and effort put in as my normal weekly posts. Only then it would mean something. But then again I tend to ramble long-windedly as I’m doing now, so much that I always end up doing a lot of editing and cutting, so length and authenticity was not a problem.

How did I fare?

Well for the ‘post once every day‘ part, there were two days, the 13th and 22nd, that I didn’t make the midnight deadline (both by mere minutes). So I simply wrote another post for the following day. So in the end I did have 30 new posts for the whole month of November. Yay!

The more important question is:

What did I learn?

A couple of things:

1. I didn’t realise it before, but these are the sites I mainly turn to time and time again for news sources and ideas for things to write:

  • Yahoo! Singapore: for local stuff including gay-related news occasionally.
  • Gaybros: for gay stuff, but also in a majorly way for music as well. I think Gaybros is mainly a site for the young ‘uns like guys in their 20s, but to me it’s such a cool Reddit site because it has introduced me to SO MUCH great music.
  • Tastefully Offensive for humour. Funny or cutesy stuff. So important. If only as a brain-bleach after all the news one reads in global current affairs, not to mention the snarky or plain vile comments left by some readers on those online news articles.

2. I can’t write every day! Well I could, but when I was writing daily I found myself giving up some of the time I would normally spend with the partner, and taking care of and indulging our 3 cats. Housekeeping chores were more rushed. Much less time to read what I want, both books and other blogs. Other hobbies and activities I want to partake in were shelved. Stuff like that.

I’m just not good or disciplined enough at the moment to say, “Okay, sitting down now to write one post. One hour limit. Go.” Like I said, I tend to ramble, and when I ‘research’ for the post, I may end up getting distracted and reading up a ton of stuff I didn’t intend to. So I usually take up considerable time to write one post. And actually that’s something I don’t want to change. This is not a job, this writing-via-blogging thing is something that I do for relaxation and fun. So I want to continue this leisurely pace when I do sit down to write a post, whether it’s weekly or daily or anywhere in between.

NaBloPoMo, however,  has been an interesting and wonderful experience overall, so I’m grateful for the idea and pleased that I’ve given it a go.

3 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo in November was interesting

  1. Thank you handsome sir…for checking out my blog. I like yours as well and wish you luck in hitting the big 50,000. The funny thing is I actually am writing a book (my first) and am finding the need to reblog a bit. As there is only so much free time to write. So I am going to think of December as reblog month.

    • Hi handsome yourself, kind sir, and thanks for the best wishes. I wish the same for you and your book. If your blog is any indication, where your writing seduced me into reading 20 posts at one go when I meant to read just one, your book is going to be really compelling.

      • Well thank you…although since it is horror fiction it won’t be much like my blog. PS: Keep reading and liking =)

Leave a Reply

