Manly hobbies for men

funny-George-Lucas-man-knitting

Image from The Meta Picture. Click to go there. First seen via Pinterest of Ms. Tracy McDonald.

Manly hobbies as listed by Mr. Brian Cornwell in nextluxury.com. Seventy-five of them, to boot. For an interesting list called ‘Top 75 Best Manly Hobbies for Men‘, which I first came to know of via Gaybros.

I have to say I like lists; they can be funny and entertaining. Buzzfeed has a lot of fun ones. Some if not most are obviously not meant to be taken seriously, but I think I came across some thought-provoking ones as well.

Lists with a ‘best’ or ‘worst’ in their titles like this Manly Hobbies one, I take with a pinch of salt. But I have to say I like this one, for a few reasons. Firstly I’m impressed with how comprehensive it is (not ten or twenty but seventy-five hobbies!), and secondly it includes some stuff that’s not conventionally considered masculine, like fashion design, dancing and thrifting. Third, it has some unexpected and fascinating-sounding suggestions. Knife making, anyone? Uhmm, gold panning?

I guess the title is not meant to be taken seriously, it’s there just to attract eyeballs. It certainly did mine. The list is about suggesting activities for guys who are considering to engage in new stuff, and in that regard I think the writer did a great job.

Below is the full list. I’ve gone through it and checked how I can relate to it.

  1. Cooking and Grilling 
  2. Homebrewing Beer
  3. Skiing and Snowboarding
  4. Leatherworking
  5. Chess
  6. Rocketry
  7. Investing
  8. Lockpicking
  9. Archery
  10. Thrifting (does getting brand new junk at 2-dollar shop Daiso count? hah)
  11. Tattooing
  12. Bodybuilding (working out in general)
  13. Rock Sports
  14. Classic Car Restoration
  15. Traditional Sports (e.g. rugby, soccer, baseball, basketball, etc.)
  16. Magic
  17. Paintball
  18. Electronic Models
  19. Survival
  20. Cycling and Mountain Biking
  21. Photography
  22. Reading
  23. Martial Arts
  24. Skateboarding and BMX
  25. Geocaching
  26. Knife Making
  27. Landscaping
  28. Sculpting Stone
  29. Wet Shaving
  30. Electronic Music Producing
  31. Writing
  32. Darts
  33. Sailing and Canoeing
  34. Flying
  35. Rock and Mineral Collecting
  36. Drawing and Painting
  37. Digital Design and Coding
  38. Astronomy
  39. Scotch Tasting
  40. Billards
  41. Fantasy Sports
  42. Rebuilding Motorcycles
  43. Gold Panning
  44. Fencing
  45. Volunteering
  46. Poker and Cards
  47. Guitar
  48. Golfing
  49. Coaching and Mentoring
  50. Meditation and Yoga
  51. Fishing
  52. Traveling
  53. Auto Racing
  54. Fishkeeping
  55. Surfing
  56. Bowling
  57. Interior design
  58. Currency Collecting
  59. Foreign Languages
  60. Whittling
  61. Genealogy
  62. Cigar Enthusiast
  63. Wine Tasting
  64. Movie Watching
  65. Gardening
  66. Fashion Design
  67. Snorkeling
  68. Dancing
  69. Boxing
  70. Watchmaking
  71. Woodworking
  72. Internet Marketing
  73. Metalworking
  74. Camping
  75. Model Crafting

Green: Done, either as things I still do as hobbies, or used to do, or at least have tried/sampled doing.

Blue: Interesting ideas, or stuff that had crossed my mind before. Would love to try someday, time permitting.

Red: No. Just no interest.

Purple: No. Sounds a teeny weeny bit interesting, but no resources or not applicable. Or it requires buying too many new stuff. For some years I’ve been cutting down buying things instead of acquiring new unnecessary things, because 1. to save money; 2. my residence is small, and 3. for the environment (less stuff bought equals less packaging thrown out and less used broken stuff thrown out.)

4 thoughts on “Manly hobbies for men

    • Isn’t it?! To be honest I wasn’t particularly thinking about that when I wrote this post haha, but yeah now that you mentioned it, it’s cool to dismiss stereotypes because they’re silly at times, and at other times can also be dowright offensive and cause real damage. I’m also reminded that I’ve been meaning to post about a great Jon Stewart segment I came across, which also touch on stereotypes, but in a different area.

      Thank you so much, Cindy!

    • LOL I didn’t realise either. But then again if I have so much resources especially time and money, I’m sure I can think of endless hobbies to occupy myself haha!

Leave a Reply

