Jolene and Lilac Wine, covered by Miley Cyrus

I haven’t watched a single episode of Hannah Montana, and I don’t have any interest at all to do so. It’s a children’s show, I believe. Neither have I paid much attention to the recent controversy surrounding the star of said show, the all grown up yet still very young at 20, Miss Miley Cyrus. I catch glimpses of the ‘news’ of her racy clothes or performances or whatever, maybe on Dlisted or Yahoo! but I tend to scroll past that. Because, uhh, 20 year old pop star? This middle-aged guy can’t give a rat’s ass.

But.

I recently came across a video of her singing ‘Jolene‘, one of my favourite Dolly Parton songs, and wow, does the girl blow me away. I so absolutely love her rendition. And her voice! It’s amazing especially from someone so young.

The video was released last year in September, as part of her and her band’s performance called ‘The Backyard Sessions’.

tumblr_mijiylaXhY1s4596do1_500

I don’t know whether there’s an actual album, this might just be an artwork produced by a fan. This is from the tumblr site mileycyrusperu. Click image to go there.

I could find only two other songs connected to this, but gloriously one of them is ‘Lilac Wine’, one of my favourite Nina Simone songs, from her 1966 album Wild is the Wind. Not to nitpick, but I didn’t quite like the way Miley stretched out and belted out the word ‘love‘ in the line ‘lilac wine, I feel unsteady, like my love.‘ But it’s just part of her version, which overall is incredible. Especially the beginning. Her delivery of the intro part is just breathtaking. It quickly enraptures you and seduces you into hanging on to that voice for the gorgeous ride.

People should really leave her alone and let her twerk all she wants. Let her stick out her tongue to her heart’s content. She’s a real singer, a massively talented one.

Back to Jolene. I love how she sang that song, her voice, her band. I’ve hit ‘replay’ so many times.

Related:

  • examiner.com – Backyard Sessions: Miley Cyrus covers some of her favorite songs
  • huffingtonpost.com – Miley Cyrus ‘Lilac Wine’: Singer Releases Cover Of James Shelton’s 1950s Classic
2 thoughts on “Jolene and Lilac Wine, covered by Miley Cyrus

  1. She does have a really amazing voice. Those are actually the first songs I’ve ever heard her sing. As a soon-to-be-middle-aged woman, I’m not at all interested in teenage pop stars so I don’t pay much attention to them. I wasn’t interested in the ruckus she created with her latest performance and it got a bit tedious that everyone was going on about it. I did feel a bit sorry for her as she seems like a bit of a train wreck. It’s nice to see that she’s actually talented and singing songs that I like. Thanks for posting this.

    • Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts, Buffy, I appreciate it and enjoyed reading your comment. Yes it was a nice surprise to me too, that she’s so talented and also has an appreciation for great classic songs. I’m glad for her and I hope she’ll turn to this sort of material again someday as she’s so good with it.

Leave a Reply

