Making fun of languages: immature and mean

I first caught this video on Tastefully Offensive a few weeks ago.

I admit I laughed, not at the words but at the guy saying the German words. He was really hamming it up for comedic effect. But even then, after the first two or three words, it just wasn’t funny at all. It’s just so silly and rude.

I never understood why some languages are so admired, like French and Italian for example, and others not so much and in fact made fun of, like German. I guess how people think the languages sound has a lot to do with it. I think French and Italian are generally considered melodious and romantic.

But surely it’s only common sense that it’s not so much about the language itself, but how the speaker is using it. And the personality of the individual using the language.

If I am shy or introverted and don’t express myself well, I may end up sounding cold and aloof to some people, in whatever language I happen to be speaking in. If I’m being rude, cursing away or furiously scolding someone, I will sound downright ugly regardless of the language I’m using, including French or Italian. If I’m being polite, or feeling romantic, praising somebody or just generally being pleasant, I will sound just lovely in any language, including German.

I can’t stand comedy that resort to making fun of a language, culture, religion, country, etc, to try score humour points. What, too lazy to think up some other material? Just sad.

***

Update 3rd September: I just came across this video of American actress Sandra Bullock speaking fluent German while accepting an award. That’s impressive. And the words coming out her mouth, even though I have absolutely no idea what she’s saying, sound really pretty. I rest my case, haha!

4 thoughts on “Making fun of languages: immature and mean

  1. Lol In my opinion , Language itself has a big impact on the words being spoken in addition to the accent of the speaker ! You know I don’t know the languages you are talking about but If I do a comparison of languages I know, Then there is a big difference in the meaning of saying the same thing ! Love the thought :)

    • Hi White Pearl,
      My opinion in the post refers to the sound of languages, of any language, and whether people tend to think it sounds pleasant or unpleasant when they hear it. I think it depends more on what is being said and how, and not the language itself.

      But I know what you mean, and I agree with you. There can be a big difference in saying the same thing, between different languages, in terms of things like sentence structure and the different words used to express the same meaning, for example. That also makes learning a new language all that much harder, yet much more fascinating.

      Thanks so much for reading and your comment!

  2. Such excellent points. I pretty much love all languages and the different ways they sound. I love to speak the bits I can of German. I like the language and it is an easy transition for me from English, to Spanish, to German. As always your posts are quite interesting~

    • Thank you! And wow, that’s impressive. I have a friend whose work takes him regularly on trips to Germany, and now he’s learning German at the sponsorship of his company. He too enjoys speaking what he currently can of the language. I think learning new languages is always such a joy, for so much more than just the language itself, because we tend to learn as well bits here and there about the country’s culture/customs and history, and that makes it all that more interesting :-)

      Thanks so much for your lovely comment Cindy!

Leave a Reply

