Ramadan Mubarak

tumblr_mppxpeN1hR1rjfpd9o1_1280

Image from couplewords.tumblr.com. Click to go there.

That’s ‘Have a blessed Ramadan’, and I wish that to all Muslims who read this.

I’m so happy it’s finally here again. Great timing too. Been going through some personal and work challenges. Demons rearing their head again. Feelings of hopelessness sometimes. Prayer helps, but it’s great Ramadan is here too to help me stay more focused and grounded. To remind me more to just think quietly and reflect on the many things I still have to be grateful for. What I need to do to feel better, be better. What I can do for others.

As for the little things, I’ve decided this year I won’t be buying a single thing more. Not a single decoration item for the house, not baking nor buying any cookies or cakes for Hari Raya, no new Baju Melayu, nothing, zilch. I don’t want to do any of these ‘festive’ stuff because it takes away the focus of what’s important about the month. I won’t visit the bazaars set up for the season, I won’t indulge in any of the kuehs or delicacies, because I don’t normally anyway. Basically, when it comes to shopping and food consumption, it’s just like any other time of the year.

This year I’d like to focus on a more intimate and spiritual Ramadan. And the way I see it, it’s also the perfect time for me to try go fully vegetarian again, instead of just when I eat alone. As my personal expression of compassion for God’s creatures. That sounds pompous actually haha. But it stays.

I also would love very much to pick up Arabic, to be closer to the holy Qur’an. I have a book+CD guide I bought at a bookstore, and I can’t wait to dive into that. Now that is going to be a long and challenging journey. Hopefully in some years I’ll achieve being able to speak/read/write well enough to understand the holy book in its language, insya’Allah.

Related post: Ramadan 101

Leave a Reply

