A wonderful memory

This picture below I saw at Dlisted brought a smile to my face, because it brought back funny memories of when I was a kid, of, oh maybe eight or nine years old.

wonder woman at the marathon

From thechive.com. Click to go there.

As a kid that age, I had the good fortune of making friends with another boy in the Keppel Road neighbourhood who was just like me (read: girly).

Wonder Woman was on television, and of course she was our favourite show. My penchant for all things arts-and-crafty must had already kicked in at that young age, because one day I constructed her headband/crown thing out of vanguard sheet for us, lovingly drawing and colouring that red star in the centre. I don’t remember if I did her belt and rope thing too, probably not. But the headband I remember well.

Wonder Woman Lynda Carter

Image from blogs.villagevoice.com. Click to go there

We took turns playing Wonder Woman, the other playing the villain being chased. After we put it on, we would twirl and spin like crazy to enact Lynda Carter transforming from Diana to Wonder Woman, and then run around all the neighbourhood screaming and laughing like banshees, not giving a shit about other kids and adults probably shaking their heads at us.

You don’t care yet at that age. Unless there’s an adult to reprimand you and tell you off that boys should behave like boys, which for me didn’t happen until about a year later. And although some kids were already cruel at that age, with the more vicious in store in the coming years, at that age somehow it was so easy to brush it off. So in the meantime there we were, happy and free to enjoy that precious period of our childhood as we wished, carefree.

I wonder what happened to that friend. We moved shortly after. I don’t remember his name, his kid face then very vaguely. But I remember very well his enthusiasm and energy, his spirit.

Anyway, with regards to Wonder Woman the marathoner, what a great fun costume. She looks fantastic, not forgetting with regards to her physical fitness. Way fitter than I am. Look at all that sinewy muscle in the arms and legs.

If I were in that marathon and notice she was about to pass me, I would call out, “You rock, Wonder Woman!” and offer up my palm for a high-five. Hah.

2 thoughts on “A wonderful memory

  1. You know I haven’t read my daily D-Listed fix since I started my blog 6 months ago today! Terrible & no excuse I know. That D Listed guy is HILARIOUS!! So is Realestalker…..have you checked out your mama?

    • Yes Michael K is hilarious! I like his sense of humour and that he doesn’t seem to take himself and the site too seriously. It’s light fun and the content always entertaining.

      No I had never heard of Realestalker, but thanks to you I now have!! I had a quick sampling and not only is Your Mama’s writing interesting, but so is the niche angle of celebrity pads! Thanks for the introduction! :-)

Leave a Reply

