Thirty-nine more days to The Hobbit

Martin Freeman Bilbo Baggins The Hobbit

Image from comingsoon.net. Click to go there.

Just read the latest entry in Sir Ian McKellen’s Hobbit blog, where he wrote that the publicity for the film has started and that he’s been busy talking to journalists. Got my mouth watering even more; I just cannot wait for The Hobbit to be released! Just a bit over a month more to go. It will be showing in Singapore on 13th December.

There will always be a special place in my heart for The Lord of the Rings. I’m looking forward to having The Hobbit cozying up in there too. But it’s just that the first cut is always the deepest, isn’t it.

It’s just that I know as I sit in the theatre watching The Hobbit, I’ll be enjoying it but I will also be thinking of and missing terribly the likes of Liv Tyler, as ethereal Arwen. And the Aragorn that is Viggo Mortensen. And the quartet of hobbits that are Frodo, Sam, Merry and Pippin, all together. Especially the special connection between Frodo and Sam, played to aching perfection by Elijah Wood and Sean Astin.

Image from adorkable me. Click to go there.

But even if the newer movies don’t speak to me the same way, that’s okay, they will still make superb companions in the series. Looking forward most to Sir McKellen and Martin Freeman as Bilbo Baggins. I like the latter a lot as well, as Dr. Watson in Sherlock.

Leave a Reply

