Pussy Riot

Photo by Igor Mukhin. Click to go to source site: Wikipedia

I’ve been mildly curious about this Pussy Riot band and the amount of attention and support they have been receiving these past weeks, even from celebrities, including well-known singers I love, like Madonna, Sting, Björk.

And then I saw this video about an hour ago, and I’m just so appalled. Saddened. Disgusted. This is what so many people are supporting?

I can’t even bring myself to put the video here, it’s just vile. It was uploaded on YouTube 10th March. The protest-performance that got them arrested was on 21st February.

I don’t know what’s going on in Russia and the issues the people there are facing, how some are suffering or not and to what extent, what their beef is with the Orthodox Church, how corrupted the government is or not. I know nothing about Russia.

And I do think it takes a great deal of courage to speak up (or sing) against the powers that be in your country if they are unjust, and that people may choose to express themselves and carry out their protests in different ways.

But to do it the way they did, in a church, a place of worship sacred to its followers. To me, it’s too much. Way, way crossed the line, I think. That video is just so shocking. I don’t think ‘disrespectful’ even begins to describe it.

Before I saw the video, yeah I thought the sentence of two years in prison handed down last week on the 17th, is too much for those three girls arrested. I still feel that way. But a new thought is, “People are really all that surprised and outraged the girls received a harsh punishment? Did they see the video?”

Some interesting reads: A selection of pro-Pussy Riot articles on freepussyriot.org

Pussy Riot members jailed for two years for hooliganism (BBC)

The west’s hypocrisy over Pussy Riot is breathtaking (Guardian)

A PR disaster: Five views on Pussy Riot’s war (Al Jazeera)

Pussy Riot, The Unfortunate Dupes of Amerikan Hegemony (OpEdNews, via Androphilia on Tumblr)

The Kony-ification of Pussy Riot (The Atlantic)

Leave a Reply

