Example of a masculine man who is not hot (to me)

A manly man. A masculine man. I guess that means different things to different people. When I was dating I didn’t feel entirely comfortable with describing myself as a ‘masculine guy’. Because the term brings up images of muscular guys posing while flexing their muscles, or speaking in deep gruff voices, being all butch and rough and all. Nothing wrong with that, but I’m just not that person, I’m just a ‘regular’ guy. But, hmm, using the word ‘regular’, would that have implied that I thought of guys who aren’t like me as irregular or abnormal? haha.

So I used ‘masculine’, also to describe the type of guys I was attracted to and was looking for. Again, was not looking for butch guys, just ordinary guys like myself, who are not effeminate. Nothing wrong with being a feminine guy either, it’s just not what I’m attracted to.

Thirdly, I used the word because I detested that term ‘straight-acting’ which I came across often. I can’t stand that. Why act what you’re not.

I use ‘masculine’ till today, for example for this blog, simpy because I don’t think of myself as ‘feminine’. If there are terms for the numerous shades of grey in between, say, the butch heavily muscled gym rat and the regular guy who does-not-display-feminine-mannerisms-but-catches-every-episode-of-sex-and-the-city’, then well, that’s over-thinking it. I’m already over-thinking this.

Now about this man who is masculine who I don’t think is hot. Is it right I do this? I’m not hot myself, and facelessly anonymous for now, so who am I to criticize other people? But I’m not criticizing, I’m just saying I don’t find him attractive. Everyone have their own tastes, what clicks for them or not.

I caught this video of Jacques Snyman on the blog Joe.My.God. Physically, he’s very manly. And he plays rugby. He also sings, as a countertenor, which I had never heard of, which I thought was ridiculous until I opened myself to listening to more and more and now I think, ok, that’s actually kinda cool.

I can’t put a finger on why exactly I don’t find Jacques attractive. Is it because he sings shirtless? Hairless though nicely muscled chest? I think it has to do that I think he seems exhibitionist. And the way he sings… reminds me of British singer Russell Watson,  a singer with a style far too showy for my liking. Maybe that’s ‘passion’ to some people. To me it’s just annoying.

Through YouTube, I also discovered David DQ Lee, another countertenor.

Of course I’m not expecting Jacques, who I believe is an amateur singer, to sing as well as David who I believe is professional. But to me David not only sings beautifully, but with so much dignity. I think this is the kind of style that would make detractors forget, or at least soften their stance that ‘guys should sound like guys’. I don’t think about that when I hear the beauty of David’s voice and delivery. I just think: ‘wow, I really want to check out his CDs.’

And again maybe this is just me, but I actually find that Jacques is the one who comes across as the more girly or feminine (I want to say ‘queeny’, actually) despite his build and being a rugby player and all.

But, oh well. I would still thank Jacques Snyman for introducing me and opening my ears and mind to the countertenor style of singing. I hope he achieves great success with everything he does in life, including with the concerts he is holding in the U.S. this year to support an anti-bullying campaign. Bravo, Jacques.

Here’s another one of David DQ Lee. Just stunning!

4 thoughts on “Example of a masculine man who is not hot (to me)

  1. It’s a pity you have not bothered to contact me about my masculinity or the fact about why I was singing shirtless. The fact that I had no body hair is that I had just done an underwear ad where the photographer and client required me to shave.
    Luckily I suppose all of this is merely one persons opinion…
    Ps..if you listen to the video, it is to inspire kids that get bullied

    • I feel so bad, reading your comment!! So I would like to apologise if I have caused any offense. Please do accept my apology.

      Now this is to address the things you mentioned. Firstly, I would not contact you even if I knew how, because that would be taking my post way too seriously LOL! Why you were shirtless or, goodness, definitely not to inquire why you didn’t have body hair. It’s your business what you do with your body, and for whatever reason. The post reflects what I don’t find attractive. Yes it is just one person’s opinion. Just mine.

      I did listen to the video, and acknowledged the purpose, and even praised you for it. I wrote:

      “…I would still thank Jacques Snyman for introducing me and opening my ears and mind to the countertenor style of singing. I hope he achieves great success with everything he does in life, including with the concerts he is holding in the U.S. this year to support an anti-bullying campaign. Bravo, Jacques.”

      So now I get to thank you ‘in person’! So, thank you. And thank you also for taking the time to read my post.

Leave a Reply

